THE STATES assembled on Monday 15th December 2008, at 09.30 a.m. under the Presidency of the Bailiff, Sir Philip Bailhache.

All members were present at roll call with the exception of –

Senator Stuart Syvret – en défaut (défaut raised at 10.31 a.m.) Senator Frederick Ellyer Cohen – en défaut Deputy Sean Seamus Patrick Augustine Power of St. Brelade– excused

Prayers

Appointment of Chairman of the Corporate Services Scrutiny Panel

Senator Sarah Craig Ferguson was nominated by the Connétable of St. Brelade. Deputy Geoffrey Peter Southern of St. Helier was nominated by Senator Alan Breckon.

In accordance with Standing Order 120, each candidate made a speech and was questioned prior to a ballot being held.

THE STATES, having proceeded to a secret ballot, were informed of the following results by the Bailiff –

Senator Sarah Craig Ferguson 30 Deputy Geoffrey Peter Southern of St. Helier 20

The Bailiff accordingly declared that Senator Sarah Craig Ferguson had been duly appointed as the Chairman of the Corporate Services Scrutiny Panel.

Appointment of Chairman of the Economic Affairs Scrutiny Panel

Deputy Michael Roderick Higgins of St. Helier was nominated by Senator Alan Breckon.

There being no other nominations as Chairman, the Bailiff declared that Deputy Michael Roderick Higgins of St. Helier had been duly appointed as the Chairman of the Economic Affairs Scrutiny Panel.

Appointment of Chairman of the Education and Home Affairs Scrutiny Panel

Deputy Roy George Le Hérissier of St. Saviour was nominated by Deputy Michael Roderick Higgins c St. Helier.

There being no other nominations as Chairman, the Bailiff declared that Deputy Roy George Le Hérissier of St. Saviour had been duly appointed as the Chairman of the Education and Home AffairsScrutiny Panel.

Appointment of Chairman of the Environment Scrutiny Panel

Deputy Robert Charles Duhamel of St. Saviour was nominated by the Connétable of St. Helier.

The Deputy of St. John was nominated by the Connétable of St. John.

The Deputy of St. Mary was nominated by the Connétable of St. Brelade.

In accordance with Standing Order 120, each candidate made a speech and was questioned prior to a ballot being held.

THE STATES, having proceeded to a secret ballot, were informed of the following results by the Bailiff –

Deputy Robert Charles Duhamel of St. Saviour	13
The Deputy of St. John	16
The Deputy of St. Mary	19

In accordance with Standing Order 120(8) Deputy Robert Charles Duhamel of St. Saviour, the candidate it receipt of the lowest number of votes withdrew, and a second secret ballot was then held.

THE STATES were informed of the following results by the Bailiff –

The Deputy of St. Jo.	hn 2	:7
The Deputy of St. M.	ary 2	22

The Bailiff accordingly declared that the Deputy of St. John had been duly appointed as the Chairman of the Environment Scrutiny Panel.

Appointment of Health, Social Security and Housing Scrutiny Chairman

Senator Alan Breckon was nominated by Senator Sarah Craig Ferguson Deputy Paul Vincent Francis Le Claire of St. Helier was nominated by the Connétable of St. Helier

In accordance with Standing Order 120, each candidate made a speech and was questioned prior to a ballot being held.

THE STATES, having proceeded to a secret ballot, were informed of the following results by the Deputy Bailiff –

Senator Alan Breckon	33
Deputy Paul Vincent Francis Le Claire of St. Helier	17

The Deputy Bailiff accordingly declared that Senator Alan Breckon had been duly appointed as the Chairman of the Health, Social Security and Housing Scrutiny Panel.

Change of Presidency

The States re-assembled after the lunch adjournment under the Presidency of the Deputy Bailiff.

Jersey Overseas Aid Commission Chairman

The Deputy of St. Martin was nominated by Senator Ben Edward Shenton.

Deputy Ian Joseph Gorst of St. Clement was nominated by the Deputy of St. John.

Deputy Paul Vincent Francis Le Claire of St. Helier was nominated by the Connétable of St. Helier.

The Deputy of St. Mary was nominated by Deputy Michael Roderick Higgins of St. Helier.

THE STATES, having proceeded to a secret ballot, were informed of the following results by the Deputy Bailiff –

The Deputy of St. Martin	8
Deputy Ian Joseph Gorst of St. Clement	25
Deputy Paul Vincent Francis Le Claire of St. Helier	5
The Deputy of St. Mary	11

The Deputy Bailiff accordingly declared that Deputy Ian Joseph Gorst of St. Clement had been duly appointed as the Chairman of the Jersey Overseas Aid Commission.

M.N. DE LA HAYE

Greffier of the States